RESTAURANTS

Does Subway have Gluten-Free Bread?

0
Does Subway have Gluten-Free Bread?

One of the most significant health trends in recent years has been the increase in people with gluten allergies and sensitivities. As a result, more and more businesses are catering to this population by offering special facilities or menus that meet gluten-free needs.

More and more people choose gluten-free bread on their sandwiches over regular bread, which leaves some wondering if the famous sandwich chain Subway has changed its bread for this specific customer base. The sandwich chain Subway does indeed have gluten-free bread for their customers who avoid gluten in their diet. However, only a few restaurants are officially catering to the gluten-free crowd with this option and are happy to provide for people who ask.

Gluten-Free Bread at subway

What Are the Ingredients in Subway’s Gluten-Free Bread?

There are egg whites, tapioca starch, cornstarch, modified cornstarch, palm oil, distilled monoglycerides, and sugar in the bread. Also, there are less than 2% of the following ingredients in gluten-free bread: rice bran and germ, yeast, salt, pectin, natural flavour, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, and monocalcium phosphate), xanthan gum, enzymes, carbohydrate gum, and guar gum.

Where is subway Gluten-Free Bread Made?

Unlike Subway’s signature bread, this bread isn’t baked inside the restaurant. The gluten-free bread is made and packaged in a dedicated gluten-free facility before being sent to Subway restaurants. And it’s available in just six-inch sizes. However, Subway can’t guarantee that its gluten-free products will remain gluten-free after being distributed to the restaurant.

What is Gluten-Free Subway Bread Like?

Some people may find Subway’s gluten-free bread not very nutritious because it primarily contains egg whites and cornstarch. That said, there’s no problem with the taste. The texture of the gluten-free bread at Subway is also said to be “soft and airy.”

Are There Gluten-Free Menu Items At Subway?

Those who can’t eat gluten will be pleased to know that Subway offers a variety of gluten-free options. A lot of Subway’s meat is also gluten-free besides the gluten-free bread at some locations. The cheese, vegetables, and dressings are all gluten-free, too. Keep in mind, however, that gluten could make its way into your food.

Subway also offers a new gluten-free option called a bread bowl, a footlong sub in a bowl with no bread. There are also several gluten-free soups available at Subway, including broccoli cheddar soup and black bean soup.

Subway also offers a great selection of regular salads. Subway’s veggie and meat toppings are delicious with these, and they’re gluten-free in most cases.

It is crucial to keep in mind that some of Subway’s salads may contain gluten, so stay away from this if you have a gluten intolerance. For instance, meatball marinara salad, sweet onion chicken teriyaki salad, and seafood sensation salad contain gluten.

Most Subway sauces are gluten-free, which is excellent news for those with food allergies. Among Subway’s gluten-free sauces are buffalo sauce, honey mustard sauce, caesar dressing, and mayonnaise. Additional gluten-free offerings from Subway include various oils, vinaigrette, sweet onion sauce, and yellow and brown mustard.

Gluten-Free Ordering at Subway

 Stay away from Subway if you suffer from a medical condition that requires a gluten-free diet. Assuming you have no other options, here are the Do’s if you must eat at Subway:

  • Use words like “allergy” to get your point across (even though it’s not technically a food allergy). Allergy is simply an industry term.
  • Make sure the staff changes their gloves when handling your sandwich. Also, to prevent your sandwich or salad from being touched by the shared surfaces, ask staff to clean the prep surface and use a fresh wrapper. Employees at Subway also offer the option of cutting your sandwich with a clean knife (or not cutting it at all).
  • Try to find out if they can prepare your sandwich with fresh, non-contaminated ingredients from an alternative source (perhaps a fridge in the back?). If not, assess the preparation station situation and place your order.

What are the don’ts?

  • Make sure you call ahead to find out whether the Subway you are going to has gluten-free bread. Only select locations carry it, so you don’t want to be turned away.
  • Subway is often busy during lunchtime. Visit the restaurant during off-hours instead. As a result, the staff will have enough time to wash hands and handle your needs without worrying about holding up the line.
  • Takeout or delivery of Subway is not a good idea. The staff must prepare a sandwich or salad while you watch them prepare it in person.

Safety precautions against cross-contamination of the gluten-free bread

Since Subway restaurants cannot assure a gluten-free environment, gluten-free bread is kept frozen in its packaging. They give the Prepackaged sandwich bread 12 hours to thaw before being served. Toasting on shared equipment is the only way to heat the sandwich, which puts it in contact with wheat, so it’s served at room temperature instead. Subway sandwich artists follow these safe handling procedures when making sandwiches on gluten-free sub bread:

  • wrap the bread in its original wrapping before preparing the sandwich
  • Wash their hands before putting on new gloves
  • Put all products in clean baskets and use clean scoops/utensils
  • One sandwich artist builds the sandwich from start to finish
  • There is no toasting of the bread

 

FAQs

  • When did Subway sell their first gluten-free bread?

Some Subway restaurants in the United States cater to gluten-free customers but pinpointing which restaurants offer gluten-free bread is difficult since their website does not specify. According to some sources, select stores in Texas, Oregon, Minnesota, and Washington may carry gluten-free bread.

The restaurant conducted pilot programs at select Subway franchise locations in Texas in 2011 to provide gluten-free bread and brownies. There have since been other Subways carrying the gluten-free stuff as well. 

Conclusion

Some Subway stores around the country sell gluten-free bread. The Gluten-free bread has received positive reviews, describing it as soft, light, and delicious. For those with gluten allergies, Subway also offers a variety of salads, soups, and other menu items not containing bread. If you are not sure whether your local Subway carries gluten-free bread, contact the store directly.

Vince Dooley

Does Amazon Deliver On Sunday?

Previous article

Does Subway Have Soup?

Next article

You may also like

Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in RESTAURANTS